Working remotely: I need tips to set a good space without much space!

Happy Saturday!!! :blue_heart:

How is everyone today? Hope your week was great :blush:

So, I am very close to negotiating my very first Jr. Web Developer job! YEY!!!:partying_face::partying_face::partying_face:
And it will be remote.

That being said, I live with my in-laws and usually, I code from the kitchen table :sweat_smile:
I am afraid that doing it full-time won’t be the best for my body, so I would like to ask for any tips or products you recommend to make the remote life easier and better :smiley:

Thank you :sunflower::sunflower::sunflower:

5 Likes

I’ve been working remotely more or less for 8 years. There are lots and lots and lots of things to cover, but the most important are:

• Clearly define your working hours and take consistent breaks. When your work day is done, stop working. This sets clearly defined boundaries not only for your coworkers but for your family/friends, as well. It also reinforces the example for your colleagues so that they can do the same.
  • Posture and ergonomics: this can cripple your ability to work, and I’ve had problems over the years. Invest in a keyboard and a mouse that help prevent RSI. Your shoulders, arms, and tendons can also be impacted by bad posture (in an office, you might get up to go to lunch, take a walk with a coworker, but at home you might just get in the zone and go). I LOVE adjustable sit/stand desks. This is what I use: https://www.ikea.com/us/en/p/skarsta-desk-sit-stand-white-s89324812/. It’s honestly the most durable and affordable that I could research (it’s a hand crank, so don’t have to plug it in). Also, a mat to stand on: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00V3TO9EK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1.