Hi, I’m Mike an instructional designer and web developer running a helicopter training center 🚁

I’m an instructional designer and web developer. I’ve been running a helicopter training center for a while but I’ve been in and around web development since the mid 90s.

I listen on Twitter @myquite

2 Likes

I started my career working at Flight Safety as a graphic designer building training applications in Authorware.

What sort of instructional design do you work on? I’ve been fascinated by ID as a learning topic this year. Here’s a podcast episode I recorded with Janelle Allen.

1 Like

Welcome Mike!

We def need an Egghead helo training course. My goal is to have my PPL(H) one day.

I listened to that episode as soon as it went live. I picked up a few more books as a result.

I work for a large helicopter operator in Louisiana. I started with illustration and Flash but it’s grown into full blown program and curriculum development. Aviation training is a pretty entrenched culture but we are slowly bringing it around bit by bit.

That’s awesome!

No doubt, I’d say it’s generally slow to change for a good reason. I was reading The Checklist Manifesto recently and there are large sections about pilots and their checklists.

They have a lot of them :flushed:

I worked for a lawyer that was a Navy helo pilot and he told me that if flying a plane is riding a bike then a helicopter is a unicycle.

The Checklist Manifesto is such a great book.

As an example, in most helicopters there is something called an emergency checklist and if the pilot gets an indication on their screen they can reference the indication on the checklist and take the appropriate action. Exactly what checklists are for right?