Feedback on some Lit HTML screencasts

Hey folks, hope everyone is doing well. This took a bit longer than I thought, but here are two short screen casts on Lit HTML, a simple templating library I have been using at work. I thought I would try to put together a short series of lessons on it. I am totally new to screencasting, so I welcome any and all feedback. These videos are unlisted for the moment.

Lesson 1 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lva-9NwhWBs
Lesson 2 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8xnIbrUn8U

I realize in the second video I forgot to hide the sidebar in VS Code, and somehow the control panel for my audio interface ended up at the top of the screen, ugh.

My main worry is that something like this is to simple. Its nothing you can’t get by skimming the docs. I was thinking a few more lessons could go into composing and nesting templates, and hooking them up to some sort of set state function so things will rerender when data changes. That is basically how we use it work in various UI’s and parts of our app.

Thanks! Let me know what you think

3 Likes

That was good first video some minor feedback would be

On the first video, it would good if you guided our eyes with the mouse by highlighting on the import {render, html } & const app parts

Also, once you were done it would be good to go back and explain what was done and guide our eyes with the mouse what data was used where.

On the 2nd video about the JavaScript expression it would have been cool to type out out the ternery operator while you were explaining that you can use JS expressions

It was like 20 secs of no movement on screen.

Overall that was great and would love to see you post some more. Let me know if you have any questions!

I would like to send your some free egghead swag as well for this first attempt! Could you email me at will@egghead.io